Diocesan Synod

Our diocese is synodically governed.

Our Diocesan Synod normally meets twice each year and is the lead body for deciding and agreeing on the policy and strategy of our diocese.  Synod will also debate motions relating to national church affairs.  In this way, we contribute to General Synod - the national policy-making parliament of the Church of England. This page gives 

The agenda and papers for upcoming synod meetings.
Past papers
Information about synod

Motions can come from individual members or Deanery Synods can put forward topics for debate. 

Next synod meetings

2024 Meetings

Saturday 20th January

Saturday 23rd March

New triennium

14th September beginning at 9.30am at Quaker Meeting House, School Lane,  Liverpool L1 3BT

Saturday 12th October  at 9.30am at Quaker Meeting House, School Lane,  Liverpool L1 3BT


2025 Meetings

29th March beginning at 9.30am venue tbc

18th October beginning at 9.30am venue tbc

Any Apologies to Pamela Ambrose pamela.ambrose@liverpool.anglican.org


Diocesan Synod - January 20th 2024

Notice is hereby given that the next meeting of the Diocesan Synod will be held on Saturday 20th January 2024 beginning at 10am and aiming to finish no later than 12noon. Synod will meet in person at The Quaker Meeting House, 22 School Lane, Liverpool L1 3BT.

Calling Notice
Financial Narrative as at May 2023
LDBF Budget 2024



Past Meetings

Diocesan Synod - October 21st 2023

Agenda and Supporting Papers

The Agenda will include the following items:


Diocesan Synod - March 18th 2023

Please find below the agenda and related papers


Diocesan Synod - October 8th 2022

Please find below the agenda and related papers


About Synod

Diocesan Synod has three houses.

House of Bishops
The Bishop of Liverpool and the Bishop of Warrington form the House of Bishops.

House of Clergy
All clergy in our diocese can elect members to this House.  Elections are conducted every three years and representatives come from each Deanery.

Revd Canon Peter Dawkin is the Chair of the House of Clergy.

House of Laity
This house is made up of Lay People elected from our Deanery Synods.  Elections take place every three years.

Debra Walker is the Chair of the House of Laity.

Our elected members of General Synod and certain ex officio members (Archdeacons, the Dean, Chair of the Board of Finance) are also members of Diocesan Synod.

The Synod is chaired by the President (the Bishop of Liverpool), or the Vice Presidents, namely the Chair of the House of Clergy or Chair of the House of Laity.  Mike Eastwood is the Secretary of the Synod.

Bishop's Council
The Executive of the Synod is Bishop's Council which meets four or five times a year.  It consists of ex- officio members, chairs of major committees, and elected members. 

The Standing Orders of the Synod are available upon request via pamela.ambrose@liverpool.anglican.org



Powered by Church Edit