Diocesan Synod

About The Diocese > What We Do > Synods > Diocesan Synod

Our diocese is synodically governed.

Our Diocesan Synod normally meets twice each year and is the lead body for deciding and agreeing the policy and strategy of our diocese. Synod will also debate motions relating to national church affairs. In this way we contribute to General Synod - the national policy making parliament of the Church of England

Motions can come from individual members or Deanery Synods can put forward topics for debate

Synod Houses
Diocesan Synod has three houses.

House of Bishops
The Bishop of Liverpool and the Bishop of Warrington form the House of Bishops

House of Clergy
All clergy in our diocese can elect members to this House. Elections are conducted every five years and respresentatives come from each Deanery.

Revd Bob Lewis is the Chair of the House of Clergy

House of Laity
This house is made up by Lay People elected from our Deanery Synods. Elections take place every five years.

Debra Walker is the Chair of the House of Laity

Our elected members of General Synod and  certain ex officio members (Archdeacons, the Dean, Chair of the Board of Finance) are also members of Diocesan Synod.

The Synod is chaired by the President (the Bishop of Liverpool), or the Vice Presidents, namely the Chair of the House of Clergy or Chair of the House of Laity. Mike Eastwood.is the Secretary of the Synod.

Bishop's Council
The Executive of the Synod is Bishop's Council which meets four or five times a year.  It consists of ex- officio members, chairs of major committees and elected members. 

The Standing Orders of the Synod are available can be accessed for further information.