Deanery Synod

About The Diocese > What We Do > Synods > Deanery Synod

Each of the fifteen deaneries in the Diocese of Liverpool has a Deanery Synod.

Basically the Synod consists of all the clergy licensed in the Deanery (incumbents [that is vicars, rectors, priests in charge], assistant clergy, clergy in sector appointments [mainly hospitals and prisons] plus some representation of retired clergy).  They form the House of Clergy which is chaired by the Area Dean who is appointed by the Bishop after widespread consultation. 

The other part of the Synod is the House of Laity which has a Chair elected by the House for each three year term.  The vast majority of members are elected from the parishes in the deanery - numbers are dependent on the size of the deanery.  Others include co-opted members and stipendiary lay workers (like Church Army Officers and Stipendiary Readers).

The Deanery Synod meets to share issues of concern to the Deanery, debate items emerging from parishes or referred by the Diocesan or General Synods and to develop the Deanery Mission Plan in the spirit of the Bishops' Growth Agenda

Each Deanery should now have a Mission and Pastoral Committee which plays a key role in taking the work forward.  More on this in the section on Pastoral Reorganisation.
Election of Lay Members to Deanery Synods in 2017
All parishes elect their  Deanery Synod Representatives to serve for three years at their annual meeting.
The relevant rule states that the number of representatives is to be related to the number of names on the parish Electoral Roll. It shall not be possible, for a parish with fewer than 26 names on the roll, to have more than one representative.

For the last eight sets of Deanery Synod Elections we have used this scale
Number on Roll              Number of Representatives

1- 25 1
26-100 2
101-200 3

then one additional place for each 100 on the Roll or part thereof
Terms of Office of PCC Members
We have had questions about the number of three year terms that lay members may serve.

According to Section 17 of the Church Representation Rules entitled Limitation of Years of Service the Annual Meeting may pass a resolution stating  what the maximum number of terms that elected members may serve.
Membership of PCCs
At your Annual Meeting you need to look carefully at your ex officio, co-opted and elected members. 
  • Lay members elected to Deanery, Diocesan or General Synod are ex officio members of their PCC
  • However clergy members of the Deanery Synod, who are not already PCC members, are not ex officio members of their PCC. This applies principally to any retired clergy elected to served on Synods.
For any other questions then contact Gordon Fath