March 2020

1st The First Sunday of Lent
Diocesan Board of Education: Richard Peers, Stuart Harrison, David Thorpe, Linda Donaldson, Liam Eaglestone and all Schools' Advisors
2nd School Chaplaincies: Archbishop Blanch School, St Hildas High School, Sir Thomas Boteler High School, Deanery CE High School, Bluecoat School, Hope Academy, Liverpool College, Lowton CE High School, The Academy of St Francis of Assisi, St Margaret's CE Academy, The Academy of St Nicholas, St Michael's CE High School, Byrchall High School, Lathom High School
3rd DEANERY OF NORTH MEOLS - AD Steve McGanity, LC Christine Moyes
4th Ainsdale St John V: Jane Morgan, Re: Sarah Hope, Eirlys Jessop, Ainsdale St John's CE Primary School
5th North Meols Team Ministry TR: Rebecca Clarke, OLM: Chris Gregory AP: Stewart McTaggart, Re: Pam Morris
Banks St Stephen in the Banks Re: Anne Wallbank, St Stephen Church at the Centre, St Stephen's CE Primary School
Crossens St John Re: Karen Corbett, St John's CE Primary School
North Meols St Cuthbert Re: Roger Abrams, Brenda Jagger
6th Birkdale St James V: Ian Mainey HCt: Keith Leiper, Re: Dorothy Bridson, Joyce Roberts
7th Birkdale St John PiC: Jeremy Leffler Re: Christine Baker
Training: Safeguarding Leadership Module - 7th March 2020 - St Cleopas, Toxteth
Event: LifeCall - The Edge, Riveredge - 7th March 2020
8th The Second Sunday of Lent
Birkdale St Peter Priest in Charge: Ian Mainey Re: Peter Gladney
9th Kew St Francis of Assisi V: Alex Galbraith, Re: Margaret Webb
10th Southport All Saints V: Tom Carpenter, Re: Stephen Hosker
11th Southport Christ Church V: Steve McGanity, AS: Simon Renison, PM: Rob Milton, Re: Alan Buckley
Southport Emmanuel PiC: Stewart McTaggart, Re: Sara Ford, Jean Lee
12th Southport Holy Trinty V: Tom Carpenter, Re: Toni Ashcroft, Sue Palmer, Holy Trinity CE Primary School
13th Southport St Luke
Southport St Philip and St Paul with Wesley PiC: Steve McGanity, LML: Rachel Bray, Re: Christine Moyes, St Philip's CE Primary School
14th Southport St Simon and St Jude with All Souls AS: Andy Liggins, Re: Helena Knapton, Keith Knapton, Bishop David Sheppard CE Primary School
15th The Third Sunday of Lent
DEANERY OF ORMSKIRK - AD: Eileen Heaney, AAD: Andrew Housley, LC: David Burgess
16th Aughton St Michael R: Andrew Housley, Re: Bill Glennon, Aughton St Michael's CE Primary School
Bickerstaffe Holy Trinity, Bickerstaffe CE Primary School
17th Aughton Christ Church V: Sarah O'Donoghue, Re: Liz Chalk, Jonathan Lock, Aughton Christ Church CE Primary School
18th Burscough Bridge St John V: David Banbury, AS: Elliot Ireton, Re: Christine Donnelly, Alan Rimmer, St John's CE Primary School and Lordsgate Township CE Primary School
19th Joseph of Nazareth
Dalton St Michael and All Angels PiC: Paul Lock, Dalton St Michael CE Primary School
20th Halsall St Cuthbert, Lydiate and Downholland St Thomas SSM: Alex Baker, Re: Glenys Gardner, David Walker, Halsall St Cuthbert's CE Primary School, Downholland Haskayne CE Primary School and St Thomas's CE Primary School
21st Newburgh Christ Church with Westhead St James PiC: Jane Morgan, LML: Suzanne Finch, Re: Sarah Hayward, Vivienne Mitchell, Westhead Lathom St James CE Primary School
22nd The Fourth Sunday of Lent
Mothering Sunday
God of compassion, whose Son, Jesus Christ, the child of Mary, shared the life of a home in Nazareth, and on the cross drew the whole human family to himself; strengthen us in our daily living that in joy and in sorrow we may know the power of your presence to bring together and to heal; through Jesus Christ your Son our Lord, who is alive and reigns with you, in the unity of the Holy Spirit, one God, now and forever.
23rd Ormskirk Sts Peter and Paul and Lathom Park Chapel St John PiC: Pauline Bicknell, SSM: Stuart Haynes, Ormskirk CE Primary School, Lathom Park CE Primary School
24th Rainford All Saints V: Janet Heighton, SSM(Curate): Gwen Carter, Rainford CE Primary School
25th The Annunciation of our Lord to the Blessed Virgin Mary
Scarisbrick St Mark V: Eileen Heaney, Re: Andy Pugh, Scarisbrick St Mark's CE Primary School
26th Skelmersdale St Paul PiC: Chris Spittle, AS: Jack Shepherd, SSM: Anne Kazich, Re: Barbara Curry, Sandra Jones, Alan Kenyon, Eileen Kenyon, Norman Lyon, Tony Newbury, Lawrence Smye-Rumsby, Eleanor West
27th Skelmersdale The Church at the Centre MiC: Rick Preston
28th Upholland St Thomas the Martyr and Digmoor Christ the Servant PiC: Paul Lock, Re: Cath Bell, Nick Daunt, Paul Givens, Bishop Martin CE Primary School
29th The Fifth Sunday of Lent (Passiontide Begins)
Oaks MiC: Duncan Petty, AS: Rachel Shuttleworth
30th Diocesan Advisory Committee (DAC) Chair: Emma Williams, Secretary: Chris Leggett
31st All youth, children's and families workers

Cycle of Prayer 2020

Diocesan Prayer

As we pursue our vision of a bigger church making a bigger difference more people knowing Jesus more justice in the world we have introduced a diocesan prayer. Please pray it and share it in churches across our diocese as we offer our sustained prayer to Jesus.

Loving Father,
by your grace we long to see
more people knowing Jesus,
and more justice in your world.
Help us to live as your disciples in the power of the Spirit and to work to your praise and glory.

Deanery Prayers

North Meols Deanery
Lord, we thank you for the parishes and churches
in this deanery.
We pray that guided by your spirit, we may be
united to grow in Christ and to serve our
communities with love and grace.
Keep us fixed on you and your purposes,
today and forever.

Ormskirk Deanery
Heavenly Father, we thank you for all those who
serve and worship in the deanery of Ormskirk.
We ask that they continue to be guided by your
Spirit as they work to bring your love to their
local communities.  Strengthen them in all their
work and embolden them as servants of Christ to
your further Glory.

Follow and share our #cycleofprayer
You can keep in touch with the Cycle Of Prayer, and share it with others, by following us on:


AD: Area Dean
AAD: Assistant Area Dean
AM: Associate Minister
AP: Associate Priest
AS: Assistant Staff (Curate)
AV: Associate Vicar
CA: Church Army
CGF: Church Growth Facilitator
CiC: Curate in Charge
CW: Community Worker
HCt: Honorary Curate
HfD: House for Duty Priest
HR: Human Resources
IM: Interim Minister
LA: Lay Assistant
LC: Lay Chair
LLM: Licensed Lay Minister
LML: Local Missional Leader
M: Minister
MiC: Minister in Charge
NSM: Non Stipendary Minister
OLM: Ordained Local Minister
PCt: Pioneer Curate
PE: Parish Evangelist
PiC: Priest in Charge
PM: Pioneer Minister
Re: Reader
SMT: Shared Ministry Team
SSM: Self Supporting Minister
St.LW: Stipendary Lay Worker
St.Re: Stipendary Reader
SW: Schools Worker
R: Rector
TR: Team Rector
TV: Team Vicar
V: Vicar
YW: Youth Worker