Readers

Making It Easier > Roles > Readers

Our diocese strongly supports and encourages Reader Ministry. There are plenty of ways this ministry is exercised throughout the Diocese of Liverpool but it all works to help share and promote the good news.

The lay ministry of a Reader is essential to the lifeblood of the Church of England. Predominately a preaching and teaching ministry, Readers are also gifted in leading worship. Increasingly the church finds the support of Readers in pastoral situations of great value. 

God calls many gifted people to this vital ministry. The Diocese of Liverpool is committed to properly selecting, thelogically training, and equipping and supporting our Readers in their ministry.

These pages give details about how we:
  • select Readers
  • train Readers
  • support Readers
Contacts:

Spen Webster
Warden of Readers:
spen.webster@liverpool.anglican.org
0151 424 1773

Debbie Evans
Central Services
centralservices@liverpool.anglican.org
0151 705 2130

Sam Stanford
Central Services
centralservices@liverpool.anglican.org
0151 705 2106


Deanery Chaplain of Readers
Liverpool North
Joyce Ashcroft
joyceashcroft@blueyonder.co.uk

Liverpool South
Geoff Pinnington
gpinny@btinternet.com

North Meols
Alex Galbraith
alexgalbraith20@hotmail.com

Ormskirk
Barbara Curry
currys2@hotmail.co.uk

Sefton North
Garth Raybould
rayboulds@btinternet.com

Sefton South
Vacant

St Helens
Diane Wright
dlwright272@btinternet.com

Toxteth and Wavertree
Brian Elphick
brian.elphick@gmail.com

Walton
Simon Fisher
frsimonfisher@gmail.com

Warrington
Michael Raynor
mjraynor@care4free.net

West Derby
Simon Fisher
frsimonfisher@gmail.com

Widnes
Sue Smither
sueandjohnsmither@talk21.com

Wigan
Vacant

Winwick
Veronica Hancock
veronicahancock123@gmail.com


Download our Readers' Bulletins
We send a Bulletin to our Readers twice a year..  You can download a copy of the latest issue below:

July 2016

Past issues:
July 2015
January 2015
July 2014
January 2014
Deanery News