Chaplains to Hospitals

Just Looking > A good place to start > Chaplaincy Work > Chaplains to Hospitals

Supporting the spiritual welfare of those in need

Offering spiritual care to patients, carers, family and friends can be a vital part of the support needed during the crisis of illness. Our chaplains offer highly sensitive pastoral care to NHS trusts across our region. Employed by the trusts themselves the chaplains bring a strong sense of their Christian faith into the hospital setting whilst being sensitive to those of other faiths and none.

Our chaplains adhere to the occupational standards which define the work as that which 'enables individuals and groups ina healthcare setting to respond to spiritual and emotional need and to the experiences of life and death, illness and injury in the context of a faith or belief system'

Our Chaplains

Warrington Hospital


Rev John Duffield
01925 662146
john.duffield@nch.nhs.uk

Wrightington, Wigan & Leigh NHS Trust

Rev Anne Edwards
01942 822324
Anne.J.Edwards@wwl.nhs.uk

Rev Jane Vost
01942 822324
jane.vost@wwl.nhs.uk

Rev Michelle Thompson
01942 822324
michelle.thompson@wwl.nhs.uk

Southport & Ormskirk

Rev Martin Abrams
01704 704639
martin.abrams@nhs.net

Whiston Hospital

Paul Taylor

University Hospital Aintree

Chaplaincy Team
0151 5293195
chaplaincy@aintree.nhs.uk

Mersey Care/Ashworth Hospital
For urgent requests, please use the generic contacts immediately below
0151 472 4564
spirit@merseycare.nhs.uk

Rev Sara Doyle
Mental Health Chaplain
07967 144489
sara.doyle@merseycare.nhs.uk

Rev Julian Raffay
Specialist Chaplain (Research, Education, and Development)
07976 133235
julian.raffay@merseycare.nhs.uk

Royal Liverpool Broadgreen

Rev George Perera
0151 706 2000 ext 6235
07803 129501
eperera@toucansurf.com

Royal Liverpool University Hospital

Rev Christopher Peter
0151 706 2826
christopher.peter@rlbuht.nhs.uk

Alder Hey

Rev David  Williams
0151 252 5465
07765 474777
david.j.williams@alderhey.nhs.uk

Halton (Runcorn)

Rev Philip Turner
01928 753443
philip.turner@whh.nhs.uk

Hollin's Park

Rev Pam Lovatt
01925 664000
pam.lovatt@ntlworld.com

Liverpool Women's

Anne Lawlor
annelawlor92@yahoo.co.uk